Description
This option allows the signatures (not the user contact data) to be synced to Gmail.
By default, the signatures are automatically synced every four hours.
NOTE: This option allows only the first applicable signature to be synced to Gmail. Campaigns and Disclaimers are not supported for client-side signatures for a Google Workspace subscription.
How to access it
To access the Start Synchronization option:
- From the header bar, select the cogwheel icon, then select Gmail Signatures.

The Settings menu is found under the cogwheel icon.
- Navigate to the Start Synchronization section.

The Start Synchronization section.
Select an option below to view the related instructions:
Synchronizing Gmail signatures
To manually synchronize Gmail signatures:
-
Select Start sync.
NOTE: Signatures are automatically synchronized to Gmail every four hours. Allow up to three hours for a sync to complete.
Select Start sync.
Checking the synchronization status
To check the synchronization status:
The synchronization status is displayed below the Start sync button.
The last synchronized status.
Once a sync is complete, this displays the date and time of the most recent successful synchronization.
Other possible statuses are:
-
In Progress: The synchronization is currently running.
-
Consent required: Exclaimer is not authorized to access the user data in Google Workspace.
- Failed: Synchronization could not be completed. An unknown error may have occurred.
Troubleshooting
NOTE: This option allows only the first applicable signature to be synced to Gmail. Campaigns and Disclaimers are not supported for client-side signatures for a Google Workspace subscription.
If your synchronization has failed:
- Try to re-run the synchronization.
- Check that you have Enabled access to Google Workspace.
- Check if you have a Client-Side signature with embedded images. If so, see Gmail synchronization issues when using Client-Side signatures and embedded images.
- Check that your signature does not exceed the 10,000-character limit. If it does, remove or shorten content until it is under the limit, then re-run the synchronization. For more information, see 10,000 character limit for client-side in Google Workspace.
- If your synchronization is taking a long time to complete, allow up to three hours for the synchronization to finish.
- Submit a request with the Support team.